Minding Appearances: Style, Truth, and Subjectivity

“To what extent does my appearance style represent or create truths about who I am? How do my ways of being, becoming, and appearing interface with those of others?”

When I read this it really made me think of how much my appearance used to matter to me. I feel like those questions sort of sum up the standards I’d hold myself to every day for about 8 years of my life. I’m not saying that I don’t care about my appearance now, of course I care. I just have a completely different outlook on how I dress myself.
“Patrizia Calefato describes how a ‘look’ functions doubly as an image and as an expression of one’s outlook on the world. A look articulates a way of being in the world and of creating a social universe.”

I can remember exactly when I started to put extra effort into how I dress, which was for me, when I made the connection of thinking about who I am or who I want to be can be communicated through my clothing. This moment of time took place at the beginning of 7th grade. That was when I started listening to bands no where near top 40, and when I started to realize how different I felt from my peers.

By high school I had grown into the differences and it showed through my clothing and makeup. It helped that I had a small group of friends that shared my likes and dislikes. All of our combined looks created our own little social universe at school.

Me, 2003. why am I holding my chin?

 

2004

 

2006

 

“Style is a process or act of managing appearance in everyday life; this process characterizes the visible identity constructions through which individuals can articulate social yearnings – yearnings that aren’t only aesthetic but also political in nature.”

For years I’d put limits on myself on what I could or couldn’t wear. It’s funny how that is, I was representing myself to the fullest, but how was I doing that by denying myself color and styles I admired? I know it was partly because of pressure from my peers, but the majority of it was because I was a very sad kid who thought too much and had a preference for anything relating to death. I suppose in my case strange social yearnings and politics lead to strange clothing choices.
I realize that I related this entire chapter to the dark years in my life. It’s just that this book and class in general keeps making me think of that time.

One thought on “Minding Appearances: Style, Truth, and Subjectivity

Leave a Reply

